Winners Of The Irish Whiskey Awards Announced

By square1
Winners Of The Irish Whiskey Awards Announced

The Irish Whiskey Awards took place at Kilbeggan Distillery in Co. Westmeath on October 23, 2014, celebrating the fastest growing premium spirit category in the world.

The event was organised by Celtic Whiskey Shop, and looks to showcase the quality and diversity of Irish whiskey across 17 categories.

The judging panel was made up of members from the Celtic Whiskey Club and the Irish Whiskey Society, with winners selected by the panel based on a series of blind tastings.

The Overall Best Whiskey 2014 was awarded to Redbreast 21 Year Old Whiskey, while Dick Mack’s in Dingle won The Whiskey Bar of the year.

The number of categories was increased to 17 this year, on the back of the Irish Whiskey Awards’ success in 2013. Awards are now offered for Best Irish Liqueur, which went to Coole Swan, and Best Irish Whiskey Barrel Aged Craft Beer, which was awarded to Franciscan Well Jameson Stout.


Ally Alpine, founder of the Irish Whiskey Awards commented, “The standard was extremely high across all categories, reflecting the superb quality of whiskeys and whiskey bars in Ireland.”

Aoife Keane, Head of the Irish Whiskey Association spoke at the event: “Tonight we celebrate Irish whiskey – its high quality standards, its global reach and its local roots.

“Fifteen years ago, 1.5 million cases of Irish whiskey were being sold around the world and there were four distilleries on the island. Since then, Irish whiskey has been the fastest growing premium spirit category in the world, selling 6.2 million cases last year.”

© 2014 - Checkout Magazine by Emily Horne

Stay Connected With Our Weekly Newsletter

Processing your request...

Thanks! please check your email to confirm your subscription.